GRANNY EDWARDS’ HOMEPLACE

A famous Indian hut near Coalgate, Oklahoma

My Uncle Butch found this picture from an old Penny Postcard! He wrote that it kinda looks like Grandma Edwards’ homeplace about a mile north of Cottonwood. They still have the home place (the rocks from the old cellar are still there). Seeing this made me think about the painting I have hanging over Gary’s recliner. I took these pictures today. When people come to our home they always comment about it. See my previous post of Granny Callaway’s Homeplace for the companion painting and story. Archie Shepherd who was the art teacher for 30 years in Greensburg, Kansas painted this from some photographs at the request of my Aunt Lois in October 1978. When my Mother passed away, I was able to get this painting. I never knew this set of great-grandparents or their homeplace. They were Mother’s grandparents on her daddy’s side.

Granny Edwards' Homeplace by Archie Shepherd, 10-1978

Granny Edwards' Homeplace by Archie Shepherd, 10-1978

Granny Edwards' Homeplace by Archie Shepherd, 10-1978

Granny Edwards' Homeplace by Archie Shepherd, 10-1978

Granny Edwards' Homeplace by Archie Shepherd, 10-1978

Leave a Reply

