30 Day Blog Challenge – Day 18 – January 18, 2012

Welcome to Day 18 of The 30 Day Blog Challenge hosted by our daughter, C.C., at I’m On My Way
and her online BFF Jamee at A New Kind of Normal.

Today’s assignment is to post a blog post about something you crave a lot.

The30DayBlogChallenge

Well, I’m like many of you in that I crave chocolate….I really love all chocolate, but in the interest of health I made myself acquire a taste for dark chocolate….now that’s all I want….and specifically, I like Lindt 90% Cocoa Supreme Dark which I break into squares and put in the freezer….gives me some control over portions (if I can stick to it)….love the frozen taste of it….and I can buy it at WalMart!!!! 🙂
I haven’t had any in quite awhile though. 😦

Lindt 90% Cocoa Supreme Dark Chocolate

However, the last little while I’ve been craving cinnamon….specifically homemade cinnamon rolls like my Grannie made.

I’ve tried several other cinnamon things to satisfy this craving.

First, I tried Gluten Free Cinnamon Chex cereal which I eat often.

Nope.

Second, I tried Honey Maid Cinnamon Grahams, low fat is my preference, but I also tried regular when low fat wasn’t available

 Nope.

NOTE: I got our daughter, C.C., to show me how to do a collage. Yea!

Honey Maid Cinnamon Grahams

Third, I tried Rhodes Cinnamon Rolls. They were delicious while hot/warm, but as they cooled they weren’t as good.

They have cream cheese icing, which is ok, but I prefer powdered sugar/milk icing. I did eat more than my fair share though. 🙂

Nope.

Rhodes Cinnamon Rolls

Fourth, I tried Bridgford Cinnamon Pull-Apart Monkey Bread which I’ve had before. I ate quite a bit of it, too.

Nope.

Bridgford Monkey Bread Cinnamon Pull-Apart

Now, this looks like what I’m craving!!!!

However, I haven’t tried it. I’m scared to….I’m not much of a baker….but, I think I may have to break down and give it a whirl.

Almond Silk Cinnamon Rolls

Here’s the recipe.

Almond Silk Cinnamon Rolls
by Jennifer Steger

Dough Ingredients:
2 cups SILK PureAlmond Milk
½ cup butter
4 cups flour
½ cup sugar
1 TBSP active dry yeast
½ tsp baking powder
½ tsp baking soda
½ tsp salt

Filling Ingredients:
½ cup melted butter
1 cup sugar
Ground Cinnamon

Frosting Ingredients (if desired):
½ of a 1 lb bag powdered sugar
¼ – ½ cup SILK Almond Milk or SILK Vanilla or SILK Nog… whichever flavor desired
¼ cup butter, melted
Additional flavorings desired (coffee, almond, maple, …)

Instructions:
1. Microwave SILK almond milk and butter 2 ½ minutes on high (until butter is completely melted, but do not boil)
2. While milk/butter is microwaving, Combine remaining flour, sugar, and yeast in mixing bowl
3. Pour warm milk/butter mixture into mixing bowl and stir until mixed completely
4. Cover to let dough rise for 1 hour
5. Mix in remaining dry ingredients
6. Cover table top with moderate dusting of flour
7. Place dough on table and form into general shape of a rectangle
8. Roll dough until fairly thin
9. Filling:
a.Pour the melted butter evenly over the dough
b. Cover evenly with the sugar (try to get as close to the edges as possible)
c. Generously sprinkle cinnamon over the sugar
10. Roll dough (tightly) towards you
11. Cut dough roll into 1 inch slices
12. Place in 2 greased/buttered 9×13 pans, allow space in between rolls
13. Let rolls rise for 30 minutes
14. Bake at 400 degrees for 15 minutes or until golden brown
15. While baking, make frosting if desired by mixing all ingredients together
a. You can make whatever flavor desired, using any SILK flavor of almond or soy milk
b. Consider other additive flavors or combination of flavors(use 1 tsp if concentrated flavoring): maple, almond, coffee,espresso…
c. Add SILK milk last and mix until frosting is to desired consistency. If too runny, just add more powdered sugar!
d. Pour frosting over rolls or serve alongside
i. Consider making several flavors of frosting if serving to many guests, to allow them to choose.

3 thoughts on “30 Day Blog Challenge – Day 18 – January 18, 2012

  1. I love cinnamon too! I love the Cinnamon Chex but you’re right, it does not take place of a warm gooey cinnamon roll! Some days I would give my left leg for a Cinnabon cinnamon roll! YUM! I’ve found a recipe for GF cinnamon rolls but just haven’t tried it yet! Need to put that on my to-do list!

Leave a Reply

