30 Day Blog Challenge – Day 1 – Sunday, January 1, 2012

Welcome to Day 1 of The 30 Day Blog Challenge hosted by my daughter, C.C., at I’m On My Way and her online BFF Jamee at A New Kind of Normal.

Today’s assignment is to post a blog post of a photo of yourself and a description of how your day was.

The30DayBlogChallenge

B Ma Beckey with Wyatt and Lola

I stayed up a little past midnight to see the new year in.  I was also working on my 2012 calendar which still has a lot of work to be done on it!

I arose at my usual 6:00 AM.  After getting ready for church, I started our daily AM load of wash.  Then I continued lunch preparations as we have a family meal on Sunday here at our home.  It includes our oldest daughter, C.C., her husband, Russell, and our granddaughter, Damaris, who temporarily live with us right now.  Also included is our youngest daughter, Carrie, her husband, J.R., our granddaughter, Lola, and our grandson, Wyatt, who live about a mile from us.

About 8:00 AM we headed to church.  We always go early since my husband is the pastor, and we always have things to do before everyone arrives.  I’m the church pianist, so I have music to rehearse on my own before rehearsing with our music director.  I also do all the church ministry assistant/secretary work on a volunteer basis from our home which includes preparing the Announcements on Power Point, doing the bulletin, and the EasyWorship that I e-mail to our Associate Pastor who does all the tech stuff, so he can finalize it.  Once he has it up, I like to check the announcements to be sure they’re readable and have no errors and for changes that might need to be made the following week.

At 9:00 AM those who choose to meet with the Pastor in the church office for Prayer. Today there were four of us.  In between I did some work in the CARC Client Sunday School Class (special education) in preparation for remodeling that is being done.  Sunday School is at 9:30 AM.  I lead the class in the pledge and singing every Sunday.  They are a real joy.

We have Worship at 10:45 AM.  We were down in number today because of the holiday, travelers, and sickness, etc.  We did have 62 in Sunday School and 62 in Worship.

Next stop was home.  Lunch preparations were finished and enjoyed by all.  We had beans with ham (left from Christmas), rice, sweet cornbread, dill pickles, and “surprise” dessert of dark chocolate brownies with chocolate icing and topped with Cool Whip. Carrie and Damaris helped with the dishes and cleaning the kitchen.  J.R. put Lola down for a nap before he and Gary went to play golf.  Russell, C.C., and Damaris did their thing – see C.C. and Damaris’ blog posts for today.

Carrie fed Wyatt a couple of times.  They had brought their camera over, so I copied the pics to our computer.  I had to date them, number them, put a description, and even rename some.   I did an album to send to Baby’s Own Dare Ware to show her the finished product of the print she made for Wyatt.

I did get to hold Wyatt for a little while which I always enjoy.  I also played with Lola.

We didn’t have church tonight because of the holiday.

After my shower, I fixed myself left overs for supper and continued working with the pics as well as some miscellaneous things I needed to do.  Gary fell asleep watching the Dallas Cowboys.

The dryer just buzzed, so I must go take care of the PM load of laundry.  I also did the monthly clean cycle on the washer tonight.

I’m full, tired, and sleepy, so I want to get this blog post finished so I can go to bed.  Tomorrow promises to be another full day – as usual.

Thanks for sharing your blog posts today.  I look forward to reading each one.

May God bless you richly and give you a wonderful 2012.  Happy New Year!                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 

One thought on “30 Day Blog Challenge – Day 1 – Sunday, January 1, 2012

Leave a Reply

